Board of Commisioners

The five-member Board of Commissioners is elected at large for four-year staggered terms and may serve unlimited terms. Their duties include deciding what services should be provided to the citizens and how to pay for the services; appointing the County Manager and County Attorney; designating the County Clerk; adopting an annual budget; setting the property tax rate; establish service levels for solid waste, emergency services, public safety, library, public health, mental health and social services; adopting zoning and subdivision regulations; approving new positions, and appointing over 300 people to 50 citizen boards.

The Board meets twice each month, normally on the first Monday at 9:00 a.m. and the third Monday at 5:30 p.m. in the Historic Courtroom of the Haywood County Courthouse, in Waynesville.

Mailing Address:
215 N. Main Street
Waynesville, NC 28786



(Effective December 3, 2012) 


MARK S. SWANGER, Chairman                                    

1257 Poplar Cove Road                                                 

Clyde, NC  28721                                                      
Phone: 828-627-6109alt (h)

Cell: 828-507-2315alt


(Term expires Dec. 5, 2016)


J. W. “KIRK” KIRKPATRICK, III, Vice Chairman        

600 Laurel Ridge Drive                                                   

Waynesville, NC  28786                                             

Phone: 828-452-0801alt (w)

Fax: 828-452-1861alt


(Term expires Dec. 3, 2018)


L. KEVIN ENSLEY, Commissioner                                                          

170 Yates Cove Road                                                   

Waynesville, NC  28785                                             

Phone: 828-627-3765alt (h)

Cell: 828-734-8713alt


(Term expires Dec. 5, 2016)


MICHAEL T. SORRELLS, Commissioner                                           

3796 Jonathan Creek Road                                       

Waynesville, NC  28785                                             

Phone: 828-926-9549alt (h)

Cell: 828-506-2174alt


(Term expires Dec.3, 2018)


BILL L. UPTON, Commissioner                               

8 Pasadena Street                                                        

Canton, NC  28716                                                    

Phone: 828-648-7469alt

Cell: 507-2129


(Term expires Dec. 3, 2018)